Menu icon Foundation

Designer | Devon

I am a creative designer, coder and front end developer trying to make the world a better place! Happy days!

My Posts

Replies
  • Fixed sidebar

By Steve Trask

magellan fixed sidebar

Hey everyone, I have been playing around with creating a fixed sidebar using magellan but it needs thoughts on adjusting it so it does not expand after scrolling down. I am avoiding giving it a fixed width as it needs to work responsively but not at sm... (continued)

Last Reply by Steve Trask over 4 years ago

My Comments

Steve Trask commented on Brian Platter's post over 4 years

Hi Brian,

I think you are missing the top part of the topbar element as the data-topbar goes on the nav element, please see the below code:

http://codepen.io/gosupernova/pen/ewoGC?editors=100

Hope this helps

Steve

Steve Trask commented on Steve Trask's post over 4 years

Hi Eric,

Thanks for the update this has solved a lot of styling issues!

One question presume this would never work on an ipad due to the partial support of the fixed property on IOS?

Thanks

Steve

Steve Trask commented on Ryan O Hicks's post over 4 years

Hi Ryan,

I think you are right it is a common size due the screen ppi, most site designs would not dictate that you require to adjust the content again and if you do need another you can just add it in.I think the 3 breakpoints are just the average & most common that are used. Remember Foundation is to be built on and in F4 there was no medium breakpoint!

hope this helps

Steve

Steve Trask commented on Steven 's post over 4 years

Here is the base template from Foundation

<!doctype html>
<html class="no-js" lang="en">
  <head>
    <meta charset="utf-8" />
    <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0" />
    <title>Foundation</title>
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="css/app.css" />
    <script src="bower_components/modernizr/modernizr.js"></script>
  </head>
  <body>

<!-- Amazing site code goes here -->